May 11, 2020

Diversity Committee Meeting Minutes

5/11/2020 10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Present: Present: Jennifer Joy-Gaba, Irene Jacobs, LaToya Davis,  Fantasy Lozada, Jared Keeley, Bri Bouldin, Sultan Hubbard, Vicky Shivy, Caroline Cobb, and Gabby Scalzo

  1. New members 2020-21
  1. Peter sent out the Google form on Monday, May 11, 2020 for graduate students to select two student representatives for the 2020-21 academic year. Submission deadline is May 15, 2020.
  2. New chair(s) election takes place during the first meeting of the new academic year
  1. Returning faculty to committee for 202-21
  1. Returning faculty to the committee are- Jennifer Joy-Gaba, Vicky Shivy, Joshua Langberg, Mary Beth Heller, Jared Keely, and Fantasy Lozada
  2. LaToya Davis will return next year as UAP/staff representative
  3. Chairperson for next year will be elected during first meeting of new academic year
  1. Thinking ahead to fall activities-speakers/presentations for next year
  1. We will submit a budget for next year in case there are any funds available
  2. Coordinate with Christian Payne about room reservations for fall meetings and events pending a return to campus
  3. Committee discussed having Tiana from OMSA complete an Zoom (pending fall format) for faculty on Facilitating Difficult Conversations

Actions Items

LaToya- create calendar template to capture holidays, PrEDI events and emails to faculty and students for committee members (add to Templates folder 

Fantasy- add budget email/template to folder – task completed.

Privacy Statement